spring in Provence

21 thoughts on “spring in Provence”

      1. ps: Congratulations to the new addition of your first grandson! My first grandson arrived this year too, 2.2.16! making me grandma to three little ones!

        Like

  1. What a wonderful post! I love the idea of serving this with a savoury waffle and I appreciate your advice for making the most of the rosemary in the oil. Have fun with your grandson!

    Like

    1. Hi Teresa,
      So appreciate your comment, as you are the Queen of informative and reflective posts! Packing in as much grandkid fun as I can on this visit!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. actually, I took a picture of the rosemary shrub while taking the grandson out for a stroller ride in a Portland neighborhood. I also have rosemary envy, since they never grow bigger than a foot (if I’m lucky) at home in Colorado. and Thanks! being a grandma is a lot more fun that I expected!!!😍

      Like

    1. I also had not had a savory waffle before, but needed a vehicle for the tapenade! I’m glad it turned out delicious, instead of a disaster!

      Like

  2. Good idea with the oil! I wonder if I could do that in my pressure cooker on the yoghurt setting?
    Here in Canada our rosemary does not survive the winter but Spring is here and I’ll be getting my herb garden in order again very soon!

    Like

    1. sounds like you have a fancy pressure cooker! but no need to get fancy; do what’s convenient for you. I let it sit overnight because tapenade would go a lot better with a brunch waffle the next morning (instead of stir fry the night I started this cooking project!) Happy Spring to you!

      Like

  3. Wow! Congratulations on your grandson! How wonderful! I love that you have this with savory waffles. Really interesting. May have to try that!

    Like

    1. Thanks! being a grandma is a hoot! so glad I retired so I have time for the things I love, like a grandson, a three-legged malamute, gardening, cooking, eating… oh, and a glass of wine doesn’t hurt either!

      Like

  4. I LOVED this post and since I haven’t made the tapenade yet (tomorrow or Friday), I will follow the Piebird Portland Path (had to do that). Congratulations on your new grandson. I think this is your first grandchild, right? Grandchildren are the most fun ever. Thanks for taking the time to write this very expansive and informative post which is so helpful to many of us. So glad you are a part of this group. I am headed back to Colorado in less than a month after being in the Far West for 5 1/2 months. I will be glad to get home but hope the High Country has warmed up by then. XOX

    Like

    1. Well, thanks, Mary! You are too kind, and I appreciate your feedback as I know of your writing background! PPP 😉 And yes, being a grandma is way more fun than I ever imagined. Makes having all those grey hairs worth it! I make my first trip to the North Fork Valley this month as well. I hope after all this time, we will hook up in your Colorado neck of the woods. xoxo back at you!

      Like

  5. My green thumb often goes brown… my husband and I buy rosemary and thyme plants multiple times a year because they dry out on us. They are cheaper than buying the packaged herbs at the grocery store, and last us longer, so I don’t see it as a “total fail”. I really like how you steeped the herbs in the oil overnight.

    Like

    1. Yes, those little herb packages do cost as much as a small plant, so if you can get one to survive for even part of a season, you’re ahead! I’ve tried to bring rosemary indoors over the winter, but by the time February comes around, it’s so buggy that I have to throw it out. I should probably just dry it at the end of the summer.

      Like

  6. First of all, congratulations, grandma!! How wonderful and I saw from friends how gorgeous Portland was recently, so what a blessings-filled visit you had! As for the rosemary plant, yep: down here in CA we also use rosemary as tall hedges. 🙂 I am going to keep this breakfast idea in mind as that sounds and looks amazing. I’ve made the tapenade something like 4 times in the last 2 weeks and everyone I’ve made it for as loved it.

    Like

  7. Thanks, Katie! Being a grandma is fun fun fun (so far)! I definitely have rosemary envy for all of you who live in those Mediterranean or at least more temperate climates than Colorado. We have big rain and possibly bigger snow in the forecast for the weekend. Yikes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

